10 ting du skal vide om ISA VM 2013

Posted February 12th, 2013 – News Posted for ISA News on www.isasurf.org.
ISA World StandUp Paddle and Paddleboard Championship
February 24 to March 2, 2013
Miraflores, Lima, PeruThe second annual ISA World StandUp Paddle (SUP) and Paddleboard Championship will take place February 24 to March 2, 2013 on the beaches of Miraflores, Lima, Peru – home of the famous Club Waikiki and the cradle of Peruvian surfing.In this second edition of the World Championship, the best men and women from all over the globe will gather in Miraflores to determine the Gold Medalists in SUP Surfing, SUP Racing and Prone Paddleboarding.Mexico’s Fernando Stalla, who will be back to compete this year, boosts during the inaugural World SUP and Paddleboard Championship last year in Peru. Photo: ISA/Tweddle

The ten things you need to know about the 2013 ISA World SUP and Paddleboard Championship are:

1. The Event
The ISA World SUP and Paddleboard Championship will gather the world’s best SUP Racers and Surfers, and Paddleboarders to compete in a National Teams competition.

It is an “Olympic Style” event – teams compete for medals and the honor of representing their countries. The excellence of competitive paddling reaches its highest level as each participant defends his or her flag.

2. The Competition
The ISA World SUP and Paddleboard Championship is an annual event that returns to Peru for its second edition in the beautiful waves at La Pampilla, Miraflores, in the surfing city of Lima, Peru, and will feature defending Gold Medalists and up-and-coming athletes from around the world.

3. The History
The ISA is Surfing’s World Governing Authority as recognized by the International Olympic Committee. The ISA first held the World SUP and Paddleboard Championship in January 2012 due to the increasing popularity and growing talent level participating in these disciplines on a global level.

During the inaugural World Championship last year at the same location, the Australian team won six out of the eleven possible Individual Gold Medals plus the Team Relay Race, giving the Aussies the overall Team Gold Medal and the Club Waikiki-Peru Trophy, establishing them as the world leader in SUP and Paddleboard.

South Africa’s Anna Notten earned a Silver Medal in both the Paddleboard Short Race and Distance Race and will be back representing her country aspiring to take the Gold Medal this year. Photo: ISA/Marrotta

4. The Mission
With the goal of developing all wave riding sports around the world, the ISA has returned to Peru for the fifth time and second year in a row for the World SUP and Paddleboard Championship.

Produced by Latin Pro and the Peruvian Surfing Federation, FENTA, Peru hosted the ISA World Junior Surfing Championship in 2011, the ISA World Surfing Games in 2010, both taking place in Punta Hermosa, and the ISA World Masters Surfing Championship in 2008 at Punta Rocas.

5. The Support
Thanks to the continued support from legendary Club Waikiki, IPD (Peruvian Institute of Sports), ADO (Peruvian Association of Olympic Athletes), and COP (Peruvian Olympic Committee), the ISA is looking forward to improving upon the success of the inaugural 2012 ISA World SUP and Paddleboard Championship.

6. The Numbers
Over 120 SUPers and Paddleboarders from more than 20 countries will fill over 200 slots competing in the event. It will feature the following divisions with the maximum number of competitors per country in parenthesis:

SUP Surfing Men (2) and Women (1)

SUP Racing Men (2) and Women (1)
-Technical SUP Racing Men and Women
-Distance SUP Racing Men and Women

Paddleboard Racing Men (2) and Women (1)
– Distance Paddleboard Racing Men and Women
-Technical Racing Men and Women

Paddle Team Relay (4 athletes per team)
-Sup Racing Men (1) and Women (1)
-Paddleboard Men (1) and Women (1)

7. The Schedule
The ISA World SUP and Paddleboard Championship Opening Ceremony will officially take place on February 24, 2013 at Lima’s Parque Kennedy with the Parade of the Nations and the Sands of the World Ceremony.

During the Sands of the World Ceremony, the participating countries will carry sand from their local beach and pour it into a glass container on stage symbolizing the peaceful gathering of nations through the love of surfing.

Full schedule below:

Thursday, 21 February                    

11:00 am                                Press Conference, Municipalidad de Miraflores

Sun, 24 February:                

11:30 am                                Parade of Nations, Parque Kennedy, Miraflores

12:00 pm                                Opening Ceremony, Parque Kennedy, Miraflores

Monday, February 25: 

8:00am – 4:40pm                   Competition: SUP Surf, La Pampilla

Tuesday, February 26:

9:00 am – 12:00pm                 Competition Final: Distance Race, La Pamilla

1:00pm – 3:40pm                   Competition: Surf

Wednesday, February 27:

8:00am – 12:00pm                 Competition: Surf

12:40pm – 3:20pm                 Competition Preliminaries: Paddle Tech Race

Thursday, February 28:

8:00am – 11:20am                  Competition: Surf

12:20pm – 3:00pm                 Competiton Preliminaries: SUP Tech Race

Friday, March 1:

8:00am – 12:00pm                 Competition: Surf

12:40pm – 1:20pm                 Competition Final: Paddle Tech Race Women

1:20pm – 2:00pm                   Competition Final: Paddle Tech Race Men

2:40pm – 4:00pm                   Competition Preliminaries: Relay Race

Saturday, March 2:

8:00am – 8:25am                    Competition: Repechage Final: Surf Women

8:25am – 8:50am                    Competition: Repechage Final Surf Men

9:20am – 10:00am                  Competition Final:  SUP Tech Race Women

10:00am – 10:40am                Competition Final:  SUP Tech Race Men

10:40am – 11:05am                Competition Final:  Surf Women

11:05am – 11:30am                Competition Final:  Surf Men

12:00pm – 1:20pm                 Competition Final:  Relay Race

1:40pm                                               Closing Ceremony

8. The Expectation
Traditional SUP and Paddleboarding powerhouses like Australia and Brazil have confirmed their participation in the event. Ten-time Molokai-to-Oahu Paddleboarding Champion and world-renowned waterman, Jamie Mitchell (AUS) will be a strong contender in the SUP Distance race.

In addition, new countries will have a presence in the Championship including India, Denmark, and Sweden.

9. The Venue
The SUP Surfing World Champions will be determined at the perfect rights at La Pampilla with its long, rock-bottom waves. The Men’s and Women’s winners will each hoist the Hector Velarde Trophy, named in honor of Peru’s first surfing champion.

The Distance Race, which is the same for both SUP and Prone events, will run from La Pampilla to Playa Barrancos and back and a length of approximately 18-20Km.

The Technical Races will run through a course that is approximately 5-6km set by buoys in the ocean and will start and finish in the surf at La Pampilla.

The Team Relay Race is approximately a 500m-course set by 2 buoys in the water and will start and finish in the surf at La Pampilla.

10. The Facts
Club Waikiki was founded in 1942 by the father of Peruvian surfing, Carlos Dogny. It’s one of the oldest surfing clubs in the world.

Eduardo Arena, founder of the International Surfing Federation (ISF), was raised in Lima and began his surfing life in front of Club Waikiki. The ISF became the International Surfing Association (ISA) in 1976.

The boards used for SUP racing competitions must have a maximum length no longer than 12’6” (over 3.5 meters) and for Paddleboard a limit of 12’.  There is no size limit for the SUP surfing equipment.

0 replies

Skriv en kommentar

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Skriv et svar